Skip to content

Tempeh Oatmeal Meatloaf

March 27, 2010

Looking for a new way to eat your oats?  How about for dinner?  For those of us who just can’t seem to get enough oats, this recipe adapted from the Vegetarian Times is perfect.  It’s also great for those who are getting sick and tired of that same bowl of oats for over and over again for breakfast and are looking to get out of a little rut of repetition.

While this recipe utilizes two cups of oatmeal, the real star of the dish is tempeh.  Tempeh is made from a process that combines whole, fermented soybeans into a rectangular cake-like form.  Similar to tofu, tempeh provides a lot of protein and along with its chewy texture, it makes a great alternative to meat.  However, unlike tofu which is rather bland, tempeh definitely has a distinct taste and for some people it can take some getting used to.  It has a sort of fermented, nutty flavor, which is delicious but only when combined with the right sauces.  If you’re new to tempeh, the following makes a great starter recipe.

Warning:  When cut into slices, the end product looks like what I am sorry to say is a resemblance of thrown up cat food (for anyone who has cats, you should be familiar with what I’m talking about).   I even opted not to take pictures of the “meatloaf” in its sliced form because it really wouldn’t have looked that attractive.  However, the looks are deceiving, and the taste bears no semblance any sort of throw up at all!  I suggest covering it with some extra sauce or chopped parsley if serving for visitors.  But I want to restate, the looks aren’t an indicator of this recipes taste!  Plus, at least it looks beautiful before placed onto a plate!

Tempeh-Oatmeal Meatloaf
(Serves 6)

-2 cups old-fashioned oats, divided
-2 cloves garlic, minced
-2 bay leaves
-1 medium onion, chopped
-2 tsp. poultry seasoning
-1 15 oz. can diced tomatoes
-1 8-oz. package tempeh
-1 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
-1 tsp. vinegar
-scant tsp. sugar
-1 1/2 cups prepared marinara sauce (if I don’t have any unthawed from my summer garden, I like to use Classico’s Tomato and Basil- A little salty, but tasty
and contains a short and simple list of ingredients)
-Nutritional yeast, optional
-Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:  Preheat oven to 350F.  Grease a loaf pan with olive oil.  Place one cup of water and bay leaf into a saucepan and bring to a boil.  Add 1/2 cup oats and garlic.  Reduce heat, cover, and simmer for approx. 10 minutes, or until oatmeal is thick.

Meanwhile, heat olive oil in large skillet over medium heat.  Add onion and saute 5-7 minutes, or until translucent.  Add poultry seasoning and saute an additional minute.  Add chopped tomatoes with juice, sugar, and vinegar.  Crumble the tempeh into the mixture, and season with salt and pepper, if desired.

Transfer tempeh mixture to food processor or blender.  Once oatmeal is finished cooking, remove bay leaf and add to blender/food processor.  Blend until combined.  Add remaining 1 1/2 cups of oats and pulse until combined.

Pour oat mixture into loaf pan.  Spread marinara sauce over top.  Bake 1 hour, or until top begins to brown and sauce starts to bubble.  Slice and serve.  Top with a sprinkle of nutritional yeast, if desired.

Nutrition info. per serving:  Calories-289, Protein-14 grams, Total fat-10 grams, Saturated fat-2 grams, Carbs-38 grams, Cholesterol-1 mg, Sodium-449 milligrams, Fiber-6 grams, Sugar-10 grams

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2010 8:31 am

    After being a vegetarian for over 20 years, I just subscribed to Vegetarian Times a few months ago for the recipes. Can’t wait for the first issue to arrive. Mmm, meatloaf!

  2. March 27, 2010 9:41 am

    I just got into tempeh and love it! So thanks for the recipe! Definitely diggin’ the combo of oatmeal and tempeh … I’ll try it out 😛

    And got your comment! Check out my response on my blog, but basically yup, send in the GGB recipe to GGB’s email! Thanks hon!

  3. March 27, 2010 10:11 am

    I’ve yet to use tempeh. This sounds like a great recipe. And thanks for the warning as to what the sliced end product looks like! 😉

    Happy Weekend! 🙂

  4. March 27, 2010 10:49 am

    You’re so funny with that warning. I can’t do meatloaf–it’s something from childhood I’ve always been grossed out by. But now with that warning? I might pass. But you did give me a good idea about adding oats to dinner foods.

  5. March 27, 2010 12:12 pm

    I have never tried tempeh but keep hearing about it – I need to try it soon!

    Thanks for the recipe!

  6. March 27, 2010 12:12 pm

    Looks great. I just started getting vegetarian times too and I bought a cook book as we went on a cookbook shopping spree.

  7. March 28, 2010 5:57 am

    Everyone’s making savory oats these days except me! =) Looks delish even though I can’t really get into tempeh.

  8. March 28, 2010 7:35 pm

    Thanks so much for sparing us the picture of cat throw up 😉 This recipe sounds really fantastic. I have only recently gotten into tempeh, however it’s not straight tempeh, it’s the whole grain tempeh from Trader Joe’s. I love it!! I don’t think it would work in this recipe, so I guess I’ll have to take a walk on the wild side and try real plain tempeh sometime. Oats for dinner sounds like a great idea to me!

  9. March 28, 2010 8:04 pm

    I’ve been meaning to try tempeh for too long now!! Grrr!!. This look delicious and loaded with flavor!!

  10. healthygradstudent permalink
    March 29, 2010 7:22 pm

    I love tempeh and will definitely be trying this. It looks a lot more flavorful than the quinoa loaf I blogged about recently…

Trackbacks

  1. DIET RECIPE – Healthy Recipe for Breakfast | ProHealth Styles
  2. Meatless Meaty Tacos « Food-Fitness-FreshAir

Leave a comment