Skip to content

Baked Herbed Chickpea Bites

December 10, 2018

Baked Herbed Chickpea Bites

This is essentially a recipe for baked falafel. But to me, if the batter isn’t crisped up in the deep-fryer, it’s not falafel.

So I present you instead with “baked herbed chickpea bites”. The name, I know, could use a little work. But they’re delicious, I promise.

Baked Herbed Chickpea Bites

These are best served aside a creamy dip. Pick the tahini-based sauce of your choice. Hummus, baba ganoush, or even just a simple sesame-garlic-lemon sauce will all serve you well.

To make the latter, finely mince a small clove of garlic and whisk it into several large spoonfuls of tahini. Add a pinch of salt. Squeeze in a wedge or two of lemon. Then add warm water, as needed, to thin it out.

Baked Herbed Chickpea Bites

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:413]

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jill H permalink
    December 19, 2018 1:55 pm

    I have a similar recipe and although I do agree, they aren’t falafels, I had taken a falafel recipe and baked them to make a healthier version and called them “baked falafel patties”. Delicious and satisfies my falafel craving! I will have to try your recipe next. Thanks!

Leave a comment